Another Writing Update

Posted on January 21, 2010

2


Just wanted to write a quick note…

Tonight I spent several hours working on what I think is the most important chapter of my entire book. Not only does it answer the question “Why is your book called that?”, it talks about the most life changing moment of the past two years of my life.

If all goes according to plan, the book will be done by April. Whether or not it’s any good, I’ll let my agent decide, but Lord willing it will be a solid first draft that we can use as a springboard for an even better second draft.

No one ever told me how hard it is to write a book. I’m glad they didn’t, or else I probably wouldn’t have undertaken this project. It blows my mind how much I’m having to stretch myself, but I’m thankful for the opportunity and for the process, which is making me a better man and a better Christ follower.

Susan Isaacs once challenged me to write what scares me. I think that is the best advice on writing that I’ve ever received. Only when what we write scares us do we know it’s transparent and honest, and real.

I’ll post another update in a month or so. Hopefully I’ll have about 10 more chapters done by then and a much better idea about how this project is going to shape up.

Pax Vobiscum.

