Cravings…

Posted on February 5, 2010

2


I had a dream the other night that I was at a Starbucks inside a huge shopping mall, and instead of ordering coffee I got a huge glass of ice water. I started drinking the water like I never had it in my life, gulping and chugging ounce after ounce until the glass was empty. I ordered another, and another, and then two. My thirst could not be satiated. I ran down the street to another store and purchased a gallon of water, and before I’d left the store it was gone, but still my thirst was there. Then I woke up, and realized that I was totally dehydrated and the cravings my body was having for water was causing me to dream about it… I was craving water so much that every aspect of my unconscious psyche was a slave to it.

I walked into the kitchen and filled a huge glass with water, and drank. I stopped halfway through and wished I could drink water like I did in the dream, and then I thought, have I ever craved God as much as I craved water after that dream?

About a week ago I received a copy of Chris Tomlinson’s book, Crave, in the mail. In it he talks about cravings, and how he wanted to crave God like he craved other things, and after my dream I completely “got it”.  (I’ll be reviewing the book in about a week)

So I ask these questions:

Have you ever craved God as much as you crave chocolate or candy, or food in general?

Is it possible to have such a potent craving for something we believe by faith and haven’t seen?

What is it in life that you crave the most? Or even right now?

IF you’ve got a minute, please let me know what you think! NOTE: When I tweeted this question I got a wide range of responses. One person craved ice cream, another person pickles dipped in mustard. Another person craved those mini-burgers you can get at most sports bars– Sliders, I think they’re called– and another person sex. When I asked them about deeper cravings, life cravings, I got purpose, love, healing, community, acceptance from parents, and a husband even. All of these are good answers, but I want to get deeper, and I want to know what it is that you “crave” from God. I want to know IF you crave God.

I’ll start things off.

I crave the a deeper understanding of the word and answers to the questions I’ve been seeking for the last year. I crave love from the one person I’ll spend my life with– a hard one considering that I don’t know who she is. I crave peace, pure and simple, unadulterated peace. Peace like I used to have before I went to sleep as a kid, a peace born from contentment and purpose. I crave deeper relationships with my friends, and those people I admire, and I crave the ambition and structure that would help me get my book done before my deadline. But above all I crave a craving of dependency on God. I crave that craving, and I don’t know how to get that.

Now it’s your turn. What do you crave and how would you answers the above questions?

