8.8 Earthquake Rocks Chile

Posted on February 27, 2010

1


This morning an 8.8 magnitude quake struck Chile. First I want to say my prayers are with them. The Tsunami being watched also has everyone worried.

But just as much as I pray for the victims, I am praying that John Piper and Pat Robertson keep their mouths shut this time. I’m praying that they’ll show discretion where they haven’t in the recent past, and that instead of using this situation as an opportunity to push an agenda, we will support the victims of Chile as we have the victims of Haiti.

One thing is abundantly clear. When we use times of crisis to advance a religious agenda we make a fool out of Christ. When we love without boundaries we are doing Christ’s work. Now to sit back and see how the mainstream Christian community will respond to this crisis…


