Countown: 30 Days

Posted on March 24, 2010

2


And the peace of God passes all understanding…

Peace from above contradicts everything that this world of pressure promotes!

It’s not a temporary or limited peace. It’s a perfect peace. Indeed it’s perfect because the being from which it originates is a perfect being.

God has shown me the past few days that I don’t have to know everything that’s before me on the path of my life. My journey is something my eyes don’t see or fully understand. And this move is just another step on this journey.

I’ve got a confession to make… I haven’t been a regular church goer in almost a year. As some of you know I’ve been writing a book, and while living the research for this book God took me away from church. I don’t quite understand why, but I understand that I’ve missed it. I’ve missed the regular fellowship with the body and hope to become a part of a church once I get to Portland.

The first church I’m going to visit is The Red Sea Church in St. Johns, about 2 minutes away from my new place. Shaun Garmin is the pastor, and I’ve been listening to his sermons tonight. I am looking forward to making friends with the people at Red Sea, and hope it’s the place God has for me while I’m in Portland!

Please be praying that God places me with the people I’m supposed to serve with.

Shaun’s most recent sermon on the website, the first one I’ve listened to, cites Philippians 2. And it was funny to me the passage used. I think I laughed out loud as I heard the passage because it’s one that I’ve always aspired to. I wish I was as faithful as the Timothy in the New Testament.

Here’s what made me laugh…

Philippians 2:19-22 19 If the Lord Jesus is willing, I hope to send Timothy to you soon for a visit. Then he can cheer me up by telling me how you are getting along. 20 I have no one else like Timothy, who genuinely cares about your welfare. 21 All the others care only for themselves and not for what matters to Jesus Christ. 22 But you know how Timothy has proved himself. Like a son with his father, he has served with me in preaching the Good News.”

Lord willing I’ll grow immeasurably while I’m in Portland and discover what it is that God has for me.  And I pray that God will burden my heart with serving others there, more than serving myself.


