Countdown: 23 Days

Posted on March 31, 2010

0


Six days have passed in a blur. So much has happened, and yet so little. Monday was my last day working for Anytime Fitness and now I spiral through the rest of the days of my countdown overcome by the bittersweet feeling that has overtaken me.

It’s surreal to sleep in my empty room, by the backdoor of an empty home. My dad and soon to be step-mother have closed on their new house. Soon all that will be left of this place are the memories of my 17 years here, memories of a life that seems like ages ago. I know it may all seem a bit melodramatic to some of you reading this, but to me it’s the tangible end to my youth. I have no more excuses, and no more comfort zone from  my past. But maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe this is what has to happen in order for me to move forward in my life. It’s hard to move forward when you are holding onto the things. All that is left is for me to trust in God, and to give him my fears and all of my cares.

Over the next two weeks I’ll be finishing the first half of my book. I’ve got five chapters to write, and I know it will be a productive time. On the 17th I’ll have my going away party, and on the 21st I’ll meet with my agent to go over what I’ve written. I’m nervous about that meeting, but excited too. God has set me on this course and I know he has given me the words that I am supposed to speak. And then, well two short days later I will say goodbye to everyone and everything and will begin the trek to the Pacific North West.

Yesterday I also found out that two close friends are moving to Portland. I went to high school with both of them and they are two of the coolest people I know. I look forward to spending time with them in Portland when I’m feeling homesick. No doubt God is using them to encourage me. His mercy really does endure forever.

So with this I close. It’s been an interesting month, and as I walked outside tonight and realized that I wasn’t cold, everything became real. Soon It’ll be Summer and I’ll be 2,500 miles away from Nashville. What God has for me there is beyond me. I am doing my best to walk by faith and not by sight, and only time will tell what this next chapter of my life is supposed to include. Love? Maybe. Success? Who knows. Honestly those things are low on my list of “needs”. What is number one? I want to be more and more a man of character, and this trip will no doubt shape me further to that end. Hope all of you are well, and know that I am praying for all of you! I also covet your prayers. Pax.

Posted in: blogging, God, Jesus, Life