Countdown: 9 Days

Posted on April 14, 2010

1


I’ve been thinking a lot about friendship lately, and what exactly that means to me. It’s not a simple or easy concept to grasp really. Most of what I’ve learned about friendship I’ve learned from my friend Josh. I’ve known Josh for six years and the defining element of our relationship is the way he challenges me. We don’t agree on everything by any means, but Josh challenges me to think more deeply about everything I say and do.

Thinking about this move to Portland is exciting, but I feel an incredible sense of loss in having to leave my best friend in order to be there. I feel as if my legs are being crippled and there’s nothing I can do about it. Technology has made it possible for us to maintain our relationship, but what I get from physically hanging out with Josh is priceless to me. His compassion on me in my ignorance, and the grace he has for me in my shortcomings represents Christ in a tangible way. And if I had to define friendship I think it really does boil down to those two qualities. Compassion and grace, the actions that represent Christ.

Josh, I want you to know I’m thankful for you! I’m thankful for the past six years, and am blessed to know that you have my back. You are my Jonathon, my Spartan brother, and my lighthouse in the turbulent storms that  continually threaten me. Thank you for teaching me about Jesus in how you’ve related to me, and know that as long as I breathe I will strive to repay you in kind. You are the iron that has sharpened me the most, and I count you as family as much as my own brother.

For everyone else what does friendship mean to you? Who is your Josh, your Jonathon, and have you ever told them just how much they mean to you? I wish this move hadn’t been the fuel to make me realize what it is that I’m leaving behind. I wish I had known and shared my heart with my brother for as long as I’ve known him. Let me know what you think. But more importantly, let them know.

Posted in: blogging