Countdown: 8 Days

Posted on April 15, 2010

2


I posted this on my facebook and twitter yesterday:

“What is your ultimate dream? And what are you doing to make that dream a reality? If you aren’t striving to live out your dreams, why not? Is money all that is hindering you?”

I got several responses and one thing made itself apparent. Money really is the thing that most people cite as a reason they aren’t proactively chasing their dreams.

It really saddens me, if you want to know the truth. We only get one shot at this thing called life, one chance to really live and learn while we are here. The Bible says that our life is but a vapor, and the older I get the more I’m realizing how incredible the opportunity really is.

A week from Saturday I’m taking off. I’ll be spending almost 41 hours driving in the course of the following week on my way to Portland. And as scared as I am of this change that is shocking my everyday life, I know that life is too short to let fear hinder me from things.

An author friend of mine, Susan, has given me courage twice now as it pertains to this fear. The first time was in the note she wrote to me in the front of my copy of her book. She said, “Write what scares you.” The second was a comment on my last blog. She said, “Feel the fear, and do it anyway.” To Susan fear is not something to shy away from, it’s a barometer of sorts that let’s you know you are doing the right thing.

Anything worth doing will make you afraid in one way or another.

Anything that challenges you to grow will cause discomfort.

If money is the only thing holding you back from chasing your dreams, confronting your fears and living a better story, I encourage you to find a way. If you don’t you might be 70 before you wake up and realize that you wasted your vapor, and there will be little to no time left to discover, like Easter eggs, the incredible truths God has placed around us.

Carpe Diem.


(If you are interested in hearing about my trip from the road, follow me on Twitter: @timothykurek and subscribe to this blog. Cheers!)

Posted in: blogging, God