Countdown: 7 Days

Posted on April 17, 2010

3


I woke up today feeling pretty restless. It was odd. Everyday that passes I feel as if I detach a little more from my home– which I’ve lived in off and on since I was 6– and from Nashville. Last night I got to hang out with one of my closest friends, Lindsey, and we spent the better part of four hours just talking. Tonight I spent several hours with one of my oldest friends, Sean.

It’s funny to drive around and pass the places that hold so many of my memories. It’s a powerful reminder of just how little time we actually have in this life. Yesterday I wrote about dreams, and today the conversation came up multiple times with Sean. And it makes me wonder if the daze I see most people walking around in is actually any different than a zombie’s in a George Romero flick.

This weekend is my going away party. Hopefully my close friends that come will enjoy themselves together and it’ll be a sweet time with my family and friends. I think I’ve figured out that the get-together tomorrow is really more for me than it is for them. I hope they understand that I’m taking them with me to Portland, and will be praying for them on the drive.

Why does it take someone’s absence to truly reveal our appreciation for them? This past few days has been a sober reminder that friendship is really a beautiful thing, and that the absence of friendship is something I hope I never have to face. I’m blessed to know that while God is many things, he’s also my friend.

Posted in: blogging, God