Countdown: 14 hours

Posted on April 23, 2010

1


It’s official. My car is completely packed, I’ve said goodbye to my brother and expecting sister-in-law, and have run my last two errands. Now I’m sitting at my house, and the emotions of leaving this place are intense.

It’s a perfect day here. Blue skies and 86 degrees. And every where I look I see myself at some point in the past throwing the football in the front yard with my brother, or rollerblading on the front porch, or opening presents on Christmas with my parents.

This home has been mine since I was six years old. I’ve lived here for 17 years, except for those brief excursions to college and South Florida for work. I’ve loved here, grieved here, and grown up here, and I am so thankful to God for this place and the memories I have because of it.

I leave in the morning for the first leg of my trip. The weather is supposed to be horrible, and hopefully I’ll pass through it by the early afternoon.

The next few blogs will be a different kind of countdown. 7 Days from today I will be in Portland. I know getting there will be an adventure. Please keep me in your prayers, and pray especially for my car to make it the full 2,500 miles!

Pax Vobiscum!

Posted in: blogging, God, Jesus