Driving Update From Park City, Utah

Posted on April 27, 2010

0


What can I say about the open road? Well a lot actually, but I won’t waste your time. Suffice it to say that over the past 24 hours I’ve seen God all around me. From the tumbleweeds to the mountains, the prairie dogs to the Elk I saw in Wyoming, all have made me smile. 

 

(Last day pictures with Lindsey and Josh) 

 

Yesterday/today I’ve driven 1,300 miles. I’m ahead of schedule by a day and now have to kill some time. As I write this I’m sitting in a McDonald’s in Park City, Utah, bumming the free wi-fi. It’s beautiful here! Park City is surrounded by snow-covered mountains and filled with pretty latina women! Maybe the Mormons have it right and Utah is a special place. 

I don’t think I’ve ever listened to so much music or prayed so much as I have this weekend. And God has been answering my prayers! My car is running perfectly, and so far I’m safe and sound! 

Last night I got to eat dinner with Ted and Gayle Haggard– who I might add are two of the coolest people I’ve ever met in my life! Their hospitality and friendship is something I know I will treasure as I move forward with this book. And did I mention that Gayle is the hottest mom on the planet? Well she is! 😉  

So far I’ve driven through Kentucky, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, and now Utah! The rest of my trip will be a breeze. I’ve got less than 800 miles to Portland. I could drive that in my sleep. I think I’ve missed my calling… I should be a truck driver! I can drive 10 hours and only stop once for gas. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to travel with people again. 2 stops an hour gets old fast! 

Thank you for your prayers! I’m headed to Boise tomorrow to hang with my twitter friend @Chad_Estes! If you aren’t following him on twitter, do so. If you don’t you might get punched in the left ass cheek by a Russian carnival worker that’s doped up on Oxycontin! Ya never know!

(Above: Kansas– Below: South Colorado)

Posted in: blogging