Concerning Salt Lake…

Posted on April 30, 2010

0


I’d be willing to say that Tuesday was perhaps one of the most enjoyable days I’ve had this year. I toured Park city, Utah, and drove into Salt Lake, through a mountain pass that Robert Redford lives in. And upon arriving into the Lake of Salt, I instantly knew what it was I wanted to do.

The LDS aka Mormon temple, well the most well-known temple that is, is the 16th most visited spot in the United States. Why I decided to go is an entirely different story. I used to live, work, and fellowship on a regular basis with LDS believers. They are quite possibly some of the nicest people on the planet, and live beautiful stories. I respect my Mormon friends even though I’m not in agreement with their faith, and I wish my protestant friends would at least attempt to live fruit the way my Mormon friends do.

The temple is beautiful. Beyond beautiful actually. It’s a majestic building that rivals most of the cathedrals I’ve seen. I enjoyed smoking a clove inside Temple Square. Bucket List #94, check! And did I mention the best looking of the female missionaries are posted in temple square? Well they are. I spent two hours talking to them and letting them attempt to convert me. I appreciated their tact and subtlety, but I respectfully let them know that I wasn’t planning on converting, and then told them they were pretty and should run away to Vegas with me. They politely declined…

Three blocks down from Temple Square is a little pub that’s been open for over a hundred years. It’s called the Beerhive Pub and is quite honestly the coolest little bar I’ve ever been to in my life. I enjoyed a few pints, toasting Joseph Smith of course, and smoke a few cloves on the porch. It was interesting to talk to the other people in the pub. They are the minority in Salt Lake. The non-LDSers that love living in/around the city.

After leaving the pub I met up with an old friend/co-worker from Nashville. Since our last meeting Kris has spent two years on the mission field in England, risen through the ranks at a fairly innovative company, and has gotten married. I met up with him at Salt Lake Community College where I finally got to take a shower and check my email.

Dinner with Kris and his wife was amazing… Well at least it was until a little foreign woman walked over to me and rebuked me for our conversation!

“Ma’am could you tell me exactly what it is that I said that offended you?” I said trying to be respectful.

“All of it! Grow up!” Her thick accent made me think she was from Russia or the Ukraine!

Immediately Kris and I started singing “And I’m proud to be an American….” while she walked away, her huffing and puffing fueling our laughter as we tried to figure out what exactly I said that pissed her off.

The thing of it is, at times I let a few questionable expletives slip subconsciously… When I asked Kris and his wife if I had, they said I hadn’t said anything wrong. We had talked religion, fairly. We talked about Obama– about as fairly as we talked about George W. Bush. And we talked about love. I think it was the comment about “Yes we can” being “Thank you Satan” when played in reverse… It really is a funny thing to hear a crowd of a hundred thousand chanting to the weak one.

All in all I had a great day. Salt Lake City is a beautiful place and I can’t wait to go back and visit. I know it’s Friday and I’m a bit behind, but I’ll catch up this weekend. I pull into Portland today! Pax!

