Questioning Christianity I

Posted on August 25, 2010

8


The longer I live in Portland, it seems, the more aware I am of the religious subculture developing back home. It’s an awkward thing to hear about, the same 5 pastors dominating the blogosphere and twitter, and doing little to nothing to actually impact their communities at large. So I’m sending a few questions out into the void in the next few blogs. Feel free to agree or disagree via comments, but please make sure that in either case you explain why it is you are taking the position you are so I can learn from you.

Question 1:

Why is the Christian (mainly protestant) subculture so concerned with being “hip”? My good friend Khad wrote a blog about it this morning and it got me thinking. What is “hip”? Does having a Mac make you more “cool” than someone with a pc? Do you have to wear Abercrombie and Fitch and have a faux hawk to be relevant enough for people to listen to you?

My opinion: Love is a radical thing, and whoever loves the most is the most hip and relevant person. Also, though he does have tattoos and wear some pretty hip clothing, my pastor, Shaun Garman, has redefined a few things for me. The more I listen to his sermons, the more I realize just how shallow a joke-three points-and a story- sermons are. Shaun digs into the word and passionately preaches it, and to me that is the hippest thing I’ve seen in a long time.

So what is your take on this whole Christian Hipster movement? Do you think it’s a worthwhile approach for engaging the masses outside the church, or a complete waste of time that’s making us look like idiots?

